Buying Guides

Best USB Hubs: 10 Picks for Laptops, Desks, and Mobile Setups in 2026

Compare USB hubs for USB-C laptop expansion, fast peripherals, card access, and powered multi-device desk setups.

This article contains affiliate links. We may earn a commission if you buy through them, at no extra cost to you.

The best USB hubs depend on what your devices need: a few fast ports, video and charging, or powered expansion for a desk full of peripherals. These picks cover compact USB-C docks, specialized mobile and iMac options, and powered USB-A hubs, so check host compatibility and port speeds before choosing.

Quick Top Products

Fast USB-C Ports and 4K Display

SABRENT 5-in-1 USB-C Hub (HB-TG5P)

SABRENT 5-in-1 USB-C Hub (HB-TG5P)
  • Four 10Gbps data ports serve USB-A and USB-C peripherals.
  • HDMI supports output up to 4K at 60Hz.
  • Passes up to 80W to a laptop from a separate PD charger.

Best For: USB-C laptop users who want fast peripheral ports, display output, and pass-through charging.

Networking and Expandable SSD Storage

SABRENT 6-Port USB-C Hub & M.2 Dock (HB-6PNV)

SABRENT 6-Port USB-C Hub & M.2 Dock (HB-6PNV)
  • Adds HDMI 2.0 and Gigabit Ethernet alongside USB ports.
  • The internal slot supports M.2 SATA or NVMe SSDs.
  • USB-C connection supports up to 90W bypass charging.

Best For: Traveling laptop and handheld users who want Ethernet, HDMI, and an M.2 SSD in one hub.

Card Slots, Audio, and Laptop Charging

j5create USB-C Multi-Port Hub (JCD373EC)

j5create USB-C Multi-Port Hub (JCD373EC)
  • Provides seven functions, including card readers and audio.
  • Two USB-A data ports support 5Gbps transfer.
  • HDMI supports up to 4K at 30Hz.

Best For: Laptop users who regularly move files from memory cards and need HDMI, audio, and charging connections.

Compact HDMI Hub with 90W PD

SABRENT USB-C Hub with HDMI (HB-SHPU)

SABRENT USB-C Hub with HDMI (HB-SHPU)
  • Offers one 5Gbps and two 480Mbps USB-A ports.
  • HDMI output supports up to 4K at 60Hz.
  • USB-C PD supports up to 90W.

Best For: Travelers who want a compact USB-C hub for 4K display output, charging, and everyday USB-A devices.

Simple USB-C Display and Peripheral Adapter

SABRENT USB-C Hub (HB-TC5P)

SABRENT USB-C Hub (HB-TC5P)
  • Combines HDMI, pass-through PD, and three USB-A ports.
  • One USB-A port supports up to 5Gbps.
  • Two USB 2.0 ports suit slower peripherals.

Best For: USB-C laptop owners who need HDMI, pass-through charging, and a mix of fast and slower USB-A ports.

Powered USB-C Hub with Port Switches

SABRENT 7-Port USB-C Hub (HB-3A4C)

SABRENT 7-Port USB-C Hub (HB-3A4C)
  • Adds three USB-A and four USB-C ports rated at 5Gbps.
  • Each port has its own power switch and LED.
  • Includes a 48W power adapter.

Best For: Desk users who need a powered mix of USB-A and USB-C ports with individual on/off control.

Large Powered USB-A Expansion with Charging

SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-B7C3)

SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-B7C3)
  • Supports up to seven USB 3.0 devices for data.
  • Three charging ports deliver up to 2.4A per port.
  • Includes a 60W 12V/5A power adapter.

Best For: A desk setup with several USB-A peripherals and separate USB charging needs.

Ten USB 3.0 Data Ports

SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-BU10)

SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-BU10)
  • Ten USB 3.0 ports support data transfer up to 5Gbps.
  • Each port has a power switch and blue LED.
  • Plug-and-play setup requires no driver installation.

Best For: Users who want many USB-A data connections and individual port switches on a powered desk hub.

Sixteen-Port USB-A Data Hub

SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-PU16)

SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-PU16)
  • Provides sixteen downstream USB 3.0 ports.
  • Supports data speeds up to 5Gbps.
  • Blue LEDs indicate port power status.

Best For: A fixed setup that needs a high count of USB-A ports for peripherals, storage, or charging access.

Four USB-A Ports with Individual Controls

SABRENT 4-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-UM43)

SABRENT 4-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-UM43)
  • Adds four USB 3.0 ports to a compatible device.
  • Individual switches and LEDs control and show port status.
  • A 2 ft cable allows flexible placement.

Best For: Users who want a straightforward four-port USB-A hub with a longer cable and individual switches.

Fast USB-C Ports and 4K Display

SABRENT USB C Hub 5-in-1, 10Gbps USB-A & USB-C Ports, Single 4K@60Hz HDMI, 100W PD Input, 80W Laptop Charging, Compact Aluminum Docking Station for MacBook, iPad, Laptops & Tablets (HB-TG5P)

SABRENT 5-in-1 USB-C Hub (HB-TG5P)
Check Price on Amazon

This USB-C hub brings two USB-A and two USB-C data ports, each rated for 10Gbps, alongside HDMI output up to 4K at 60Hz. A separate USB-C input accepts a 100W PD charger and passes up to 80W to the laptop, while the charger itself is not included.

Its integrated 60cm cable gives some reach on a desk, and the aluminum housing uses passive cooling. The backlit logo doubles as a power switch.

Check that the host supports DisplayPort Alternate Mode for video; extended desktop mode also depends on MST support.

Best For: USB-C laptop users who want fast peripheral ports, display output, and pass-through charging.

Pros Cons
  • Combines four fast data ports with HDMI video output.
  • Power switch and status light are built into the logo.
  • The power adapter is not included.
  • Extended desktop mode requires host MST support.

Choose this model when faster USB-C and USB-A data connections matter alongside a 4K display and laptop charging. Its four 10Gbps data ports are a more specific fit for storage and peripherals than hubs that devote more ports to slower connections.

Remember to supply a compatible PD charger and confirm video support on the host. If you only need basic USB-A expansion, its HDMI and power features may go unused.

Check Price on Amazon

Networking and Expandable SSD Storage

SABRENT USB-C Hub & SSD Enclosure, 6-Port Dock with M.2 SSD Slot, 90W Power Delivery, USB 3.0 & 2.0 Ports, 4K HDMI, RJ45 Gigabit Ethernet (HB-6PNV)

SABRENT 6-Port USB-C Hub & M.2 Dock (HB-6PNV)
Check Price on Amazon

The HB-6PNV combines three USB-A ports with HDMI, Gigabit Ethernet, and an internal M.2 SSD slot. Its HDMI 2.0 output supports up to 4K at 60Hz on a host with DisplayPort Alternate Mode, and the integrated USB-C connection supports up to 90W bypass charging.

The SSD slot accepts M.2 SATA or NVMe drives in 2242, 2260, or 2280 form factors, with connection speeds up to 5Gbps. This is a useful mix for a compact workstation or travel setup, but the SSD is not identified as included, so plan for a separate compatible drive.

Best For: Traveling laptop and handheld users who want Ethernet, HDMI, and an M.2 SSD in one hub.

Pros Cons
  • Combines wired networking, display output, and USB expansion.
  • Accepts several common M.2 form factors.
  • The M.2 slot supports up to 5Gbps connection speed.
  • Not specified: whether an M.2 SSD is included.

Pick the HB-6PNV if wired Ethernet and portable SSD storage are central to your setup. It brings more specialized connections than a simple port expander, though its SSD connection is capped at up to 5Gbps and the drive inclusion is unclear.

Check your host's DisplayPort Alternate Mode support before counting on HDMI, and verify that your chosen SSD is SATA or NVMe in one of the supported lengths.

Check Price on Amazon

Card Slots, Audio, and Laptop Charging

j5create USB-C Multi-Port Hub with Power Delivery with 4K HDMI/2 USB-A 5Gbps/PD 100W Charging SD&Micro SD/3.5mm Audio | for MacBook Pro&Air/iPad Pro/iMac/Surface/XPS/Thinkpad/Galaxy/and More(JCD373EC)

j5create USB-C Multi-Port Hub (JCD373EC)
Check Price on Amazon

This seven-port USB-C adapter brings together two 5Gbps USB-A ports, HDMI, SD and microSD readers, a 3.5mm audio jack, and a 100W PD input. HDMI output supports up to 4K at 30Hz.

The PD port is designed to charge a laptop while connected, and the plug-and-play design works with a broad range of listed laptops and tablets. It suits a travel workstation where several different connection types matter.

Check whether 30Hz HDMI meets your display needs and whether the host USB-C port supports the required functions.

Best For: Laptop users who regularly move files from memory cards and need HDMI, audio, and charging connections.

Pros Cons
  • Combines SD and microSD access with USB-A, audio, and HDMI.
  • Includes a 100W USB-C PD port for laptop charging.
  • HDMI output is up to 4K at 30Hz.

Choose this hub when card access and a headphone connection are as important as USB expansion. Its range of connection types can reduce the number of separate adapters in a laptop bag.

The main tradeoff is HDMI's 30Hz ceiling, so compare that with your monitor and work needs. Confirm the host's USB-C capabilities and whether the SD and microSD readers match your workflow.

Check Price on Amazon

Compact HDMI Hub with 90W PD

SABRENT Multi-Port USB-C Hub with Power Delivery, HDMI Out, 3 USB A Ports, 4K@60Hz, 90W PD, Aluminum [HB-SHPU]

SABRENT USB-C Hub with HDMI (HB-SHPU)
Check Price on Amazon

The HB-SHPU pairs three USB-A ports with HDMI 2.0 output and USB-C power delivery up to 90W. One USB-A port supports up to 5Gbps, while the other two support up to 480Mbps, making it a mixed-speed layout for a storage drive plus slower accessories.

HDMI can extend or mirror a display up to 4K at 60Hz when the host supports DisplayPort Alternate Mode. Its aluminum casing and integrated 15cm cable keep the setup compact for travel.

Check which USB-A devices need the faster port and verify that the host supports video over USB-C.

Best For: Travelers who want a compact USB-C hub for 4K display output, charging, and everyday USB-A devices.

Pros Cons
  • Combines display output, pass-through charging, and three USB-A ports.
  • Integrated cable and aluminum casing suit travel use.
  • Only one USB-A port supports up to 5Gbps; the other two are USB 2.0.

This is a practical match for a compact travel setup that needs HDMI and charging with several USB-A connections. Its port mix is less suited to multiple fast storage devices because only one USB-A port supports 5Gbps.

Check whether your host supports DP Alt Mode and reserve the fast port for the peripheral that needs it most. The 15cm integrated cable also favors a close connection to the laptop.

Check Price on Amazon

Simple USB-C Display and Peripheral Adapter

SABRENT USB C Hub, USB C to HDMI 4K@60Hz, Type C Hub Multiport Adapter, 100W Power Delivery, Compatible with MacBook, Laptop (HB-TC5P)

SABRENT USB-C Hub (HB-TC5P)
Check Price on Amazon

This compact adapter combines HDMI output up to 4K at 60Hz, a USB-C PD input rated up to 100W, and three USB-A ports. The port speeds are mixed: one USB-A connection supports up to 5Gbps for storage, while two USB 2.0 ports support up to 480Mbps for a keyboard, mouse, or printer.

Its lightweight aluminum shell and integrated USB-C cable make it suited to everyday work or travel. It does not provide USB-C data through the PD input.

Before buying, verify that the host supports DisplayPort Alternate Mode and USB-C charging; not every USB-C port supports both.

Best For: USB-C laptop owners who need HDMI, pass-through charging, and a mix of fast and slower USB-A ports.

Pros Cons
  • Supports 4K at 60Hz through HDMI 2.0.
  • Portable aluminum housing and integrated cable simplify carrying.
  • The PD input does not carry data or video.
  • Video and charging depend on host port support.

Choose the HB-TC5P for basic USB-C laptop expansion when you need a display, charging input, and a few USB-A connections. It keeps the setup simple, but two of its three USB-A ports are USB 2.0, so it is better suited to input devices than multiple fast drives.

Check host video and charging support, then consider whether you need card readers or faster data ports that other hubs provide.

Check Price on Amazon

Powered USB-C Hub with Port Switches

SABRENT 7-Port USB-C Hub, 48W Powered, 5Gbps, 3 USB-A + 4 USB-C (HB-3A4C) | 20W PD; LED status; aluminum body; power switches; for Mac, PC, Steam Deck, ROG Ally

SABRENT 7-Port USB-C Hub (HB-3A4C)
Check Price on Amazon

This powered hub expands a USB-C host with three USB-A and four USB-C ports, all supporting up to 5Gbps. Each port has an individual power switch and white LED indicator, making it easier to disconnect attached devices selectively.

Three USB-C ports deliver 5V/900mA, while the fourth supports up to 20W PD for a higher-demand accessory or device. The package includes a 48W power adapter, and the aluminum housing is designed to dissipate heat.

Check which connected devices need PD and whether the host and cable arrangement suit your desk.

Best For: Desk users who need a powered mix of USB-A and USB-C ports with individual on/off control.

Pros Cons
  • Mixed USB-A and USB-C expansion with individual port control.
  • A USB-C port supports up to 20W PD.
  • Only one USB-C port supports up to 20W PD; the other three are rated 5V/900mA.

The HB-3A4C is a desk-oriented choice for a host with USB-C, especially when attached devices use both USB-A and USB-C and selective power control is useful. Its 20W PD connection is intended for accessories or device charging, while the other USB-C ports have a 5V/900mA rating.

It is not a USB-C display dock, so choose a different model if HDMI or laptop PD pass-through is a priority.

Check Price on Amazon

Large Powered USB-A Expansion with Charging

SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub, Individual Power Switches and LEDs, 3 Smart Charging Ports, 60W Power Adapter, for PC, Mac, Xbox, PS5, Laptop, Desktop, USB Devices (HB-B7C3)

SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-B7C3)
Check Price on Amazon

This powered USB-A hub supports up to seven USB 3.0 devices for data, with transfer speeds up to 5Gbps. Three additional dedicated charging ports auto-detect devices and deliver up to 2.4A per port.

The included 60W, 12V/5A adapter powers the hub, while individual power switches and LED indicators give each port local control. It is useful when a desk has both computer peripherals and devices that need charging.

The seven data connections and three charging connections serve different roles, so check your device mix before counting the total as ten interchangeable data ports.

Best For: A desk setup with several USB-A peripherals and separate USB charging needs.

Pros Cons
  • Combines seven USB 3.0 data ports with three dedicated charging ports.
  • Individual switches and LEDs provide port-level control.
  • The three charging ports are dedicated charging ports, separate from USB 3.0 data expansion.

Choose this hub for a USB-A desk setup that needs several peripheral connections plus dedicated phone or tablet charging. Its useful distinction is the split between seven USB 3.0 data ports and three charging ports, rather than ten equivalent computer data connections.

Confirm your host has a suitable USB connection and that your peripherals are USB-A. If you need USB-C expansion, HDMI, or network access, a different form of hub fits better.

Check Price on Amazon

Ten USB 3.0 Data Ports

SABRENT 10-Port 60W USB 3.0 Hub with Individual Power Switches and LEDs, Includes 60W 12V/5A Power Adapter (HB-BU10)

SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-BU10)
Check Price on Amazon

The HB-BU10 provides ten USB 3.0 ports for data transfer up to 5Gbps, with an individual power switch and blue LED for each port. Its included 60W, 12V/5A power adapter supports a powered desk setup, while plug-and-play operation avoids driver installation.

This model focuses on broad USB-A peripheral expansion rather than video, memory-card access, or USB-C connections. It suits a workspace with many card readers, phones, drives, or other USB peripherals.

Before choosing it, confirm that your devices use USB-A and that you want ten data ports rather than a mix of charging-only and data ports.

Best For: Users who want many USB-A data connections and individual port switches on a powered desk hub.

Pros Cons
  • Provides ten USB 3.0 data ports for peripherals.
  • Individual switches make it possible to control connected ports separately.
  • Not specified: whether any ports provide dedicated device charging.

Pick the HB-BU10 if the main goal is many USB-A data connections at one workstation. Its ten USB 3.0 ports all have individual switches and LEDs, a straightforward layout for peripherals that benefit from being disconnected separately.

The record does not identify dedicated charging ports, so check the intended use if charging phones or tablets directly matters. This hub also lacks the HDMI, Ethernet, and card-reader functions of several USB-C options.

Check Price on Amazon

Sixteen-Port USB-A Data Hub

SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Data Hub and Charger with Individual Power Switches, 90W High-Power Output (HB-PU16)

SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-PU16)
Check Price on Amazon

The HB-PU16 expands a compatible host to sixteen downstream USB 3.0 ports, with transfer speeds up to 5Gbps. It is also compatible with USB 2.0 and USB 1.1 devices, and blue LEDs show power status for each port.

Its high port count suits a desk or workstation with many attached peripherals. The product is described as a data hub and charger, and ports can be used for accessing or charging USB devices, but per-port charging behavior is not specified.

Confirm your power and charging needs before relying on it as a dedicated charging station.

Best For: A fixed setup that needs a high count of USB-A ports for peripherals, storage, or charging access.

Pros Cons
  • High port count can connect many USB peripherals to one host.
  • Backward compatibility covers USB 2.0 and USB 1.1 devices.
  • Not specified: per-port charging output and charging behavior.

This is the high-count option for a stationary USB-A setup with many devices to connect. Its sixteen ports and USB 3.0 transfer support are useful when port availability is the main constraint.

Charging is mentioned, but the per-port output and behavior are not defined here, so choose a hub with explicit charging-port ratings if that detail is essential. Check that a USB-A-focused hub matches your host and peripheral connections.

Check Price on Amazon

Four USB-A Ports with Individual Controls

SABRENT 4-Port USB 3.0 Hub with Individual LED Power Switches - Slim, Portable Design - 2 Ft Cable - Fast Data Transfer - Compatible with Mac & PC (HB-UM43)

SABRENT 4-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-UM43)
Check Price on Amazon

The HB-UM43 adds four USB 3.0 ports and uses a 2 ft cable for more flexible placement than a directly attached hub. Each port has an LED indicator and an individual on/off switch, and the hub supports transfer speeds up to 5Gbps.

Setup is plug and play, with hot swapping supported. It works with USB 2.0 and USB 1.1 devices as well.

This is a simple choice for a laptop or desktop that needs more USB-A connections and control over attached peripherals. Charging is not supported, so it is for data expansion rather than powering devices.

Best For: Users who want a straightforward four-port USB-A hub with a longer cable and individual switches.

Pros Cons
  • Individual port control helps disconnect peripherals selectively.
  • Supports USB 3.0 speeds up to 5Gbps.
  • Does not support charging.

Choose this model if four USB-A data ports and individual controls cover your needs. The 2 ft cable can help position it within reach, and its USB 3.0 support is a better fit for data transfers than a USB 2.0 hub.

It does not charge connected devices, so use a separate charger when that is part of the setup. If you need a powered hub or USB-C laptop expansion, compare the more specialized options.

Check Price on Amazon

How to Choose Usb Hubs

How We Picked USB Hubs

We selected hubs that solve distinct connection problems: USB-C laptop users may need HDMI, charging, card access, or Ethernet, while desk setups often need a larger bank of USB-A data ports. We favored candidates with clear port counts, interface speeds, and specific functions that help match the hub to a device and workspace.

The shortlist includes a compact travel hub, a more connected dock with Ethernet and an M.2 slot, and powered desktop models with individual switches or many downstream ports. Specialized mobile filming and handheld gaming designs have narrower use cases, while overlapping four-port models add little when a similar hub offers a clearer advantage.

Comparing USB Hubs by Connection Type

Start with the host connection. USB-C hubs such as the Sabrent HB-TG5P, HB-6PNV, HB-SHPU, and HB-TC5P are aimed at laptops and tablets with USB-C, but display output depends on DisplayPort Alternate Mode.

Check the device's port capabilities before buying; the connector shape alone does not confirm video support.

The functions vary substantially. The HB-6PNV adds Gigabit Ethernet and an M.2 SSD slot, while the j5create JCD373EC adds SD and microSD readers plus a headphone jack.

For a simpler display-and-charging setup, the HB-SHPU has HDMI up to 4K at 60Hz and 90W PD, while the HB-TC5P mixes one faster USB-A port with two USB 2.0 ports. The JCD373EC's HDMI output tops out at 4K at 30Hz, so monitor refresh needs may narrow the choice.

ProductStandout featuresBest for
SABRENT 5-in-1 USB-C Hub (HB-TG5P)Check Price
  • Four 10Gbps data ports serve USB-A and USB-C peripherals.
  • HDMI supports output up to 4K at 60Hz.
USB-C laptop users who want fast peripheral ports, display output, and pass-through charging.
SABRENT 6-Port USB-C Hub & M.2 Dock (HB-6PNV)Check Price
  • Adds HDMI 2.0 and Gigabit Ethernet alongside USB ports.
  • The internal slot supports M.2 SATA or NVMe SSDs.
Traveling laptop and handheld users who want Ethernet, HDMI, and an M.2 SSD in one hub.
j5create USB-C Multi-Port Hub (JCD373EC)Check Price
  • Provides seven functions, including card readers and audio.
  • Two USB-A data ports support 5Gbps transfer.
Laptop users who regularly move files from memory cards and need HDMI, audio, and charging connections.
SABRENT USB-C Hub with HDMI (HB-SHPU)Check Price
  • Offers one 5Gbps and two 480Mbps USB-A ports.
  • HDMI output supports up to 4K at 60Hz.
Travelers who want a compact USB-C hub for 4K display output, charging, and everyday USB-A devices.
SABRENT USB-C Hub (HB-TC5P)Check Price
  • Combines HDMI, pass-through PD, and three USB-A ports.
  • One USB-A port supports up to 5Gbps.
USB-C laptop owners who need HDMI, pass-through charging, and a mix of fast and slower USB-A ports.
SABRENT 7-Port USB-C Hub (HB-3A4C)Check Price
  • Adds three USB-A and four USB-C ports rated at 5Gbps.
  • Each port has its own power switch and LED.
Desk users who need a powered mix of USB-A and USB-C ports with individual on/off control.
SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-B7C3)Check Price
  • Supports up to seven USB 3.0 devices for data.
  • Three charging ports deliver up to 2.4A per port.
A desk setup with several USB-A peripherals and separate USB charging needs.
SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-BU10)Check Price
  • Ten USB 3.0 ports support data transfer up to 5Gbps.
  • Each port has a power switch and blue LED.
Users who want many USB-A data connections and individual port switches on a powered desk hub.
SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-PU16)Check Price
  • Provides sixteen downstream USB 3.0 ports.
  • Supports data speeds up to 5Gbps.
A fixed setup that needs a high count of USB-A ports for peripherals, storage, or charging access.
SABRENT 4-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-UM43)Check Price
  • Adds four USB 3.0 ports to a compatible device.
  • Individual switches and LEDs control and show port status.
Users who want a straightforward four-port USB-A hub with a longer cable and individual switches.

Choosing a USB Hub for a Desk

For a USB-A workstation, compare downstream data ports with dedicated charging ports. The HB-B7C3 separates seven USB 3.0 data connections from three charging ports rated up to 2.4A per port.

The HB-BU10 instead gives you ten USB 3.0 data ports, while the HB-PU16 prioritizes a sixteen-port layout and supports older USB devices as well.

Individual switches matter when you want to disconnect devices at the hub. They appear on the HB-B7C3, HB-BU10, and four-port HB-UM43, and each model has port status indicators.

The HB-UM43 is a smaller data-only choice and does not support charging. For USB-C peripherals at a desk, the HB-3A4C offers a mix of USB-A and USB-C ports, but only one USB-C port supports up to 20W PD.

Check Power, Speed, and Host Support

A port count does not tell the whole story. Separate data ports from charge-only connections, and check the speed of each port: some compact hubs mix 5Gbps USB-A with USB 2.0 ports for slower peripherals.

Likewise, USB-C power input for a laptop is different from a USB-C port that carries data or video. The HB-TG5P passes up to 80W from a separate 100W charger, while that charger is not included.

For display use, confirm that the computer supports DP Alt Mode, then compare the hub's HDMI resolution and refresh support with your monitor. Also account for any host-specific limitations noted for the model.

If you plan to connect an M.2 drive, verify its interface and form factor against the HB-6PNV's compatibility details.

Which USB Hub Fits Your Setup?

Choose a compact USB-C adapter such as the HB-SHPU or HB-TC5P for everyday laptop expansion, and the HB-TG5P when faster USB-C data connections matter. Pick the HB-6PNV when Ethernet and portable M.2 storage are useful, or the JCD373EC when card readers and audio are part of the routine.

For a USB-A desk with charging and data needs, the HB-B7C3 has dedicated charging ports alongside USB 3.0 data. The HB-BU10 suits users who want ten switched data ports, while the HB-PU16 serves setups that need the highest port count.

Choose the HB-UM43 for a smaller switched four-port arrangement, or the HB-3A4C when a powered USB-C and USB-A mix is the deciding factor.

Written by

leadershipasheville.org Editorial Team

Editorial team

Independent editorial coverage of community leadership.

Best overall

In a hurry?

Start with this pick, then check Amazon for available deals.

SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-PU16)

SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-PU16)

4.5/51,000+ ratingsRead Amazon Reviews ↗

Best for: A fixed setup that needs a high count of USB-A ports for peripherals, storage, or charging access.

Check for deals on Amazon